The optional “Tasks” feature allows you to set up discrete actions and/or a consistent workflow required for resolution of an issue. Tasks may be added during the submission of an issue or at any time in the issue life cycle: manually and/or automatically, individually and/or collectively. Tasks and Task Groups may also be included within Recurring Issues and Quick Picks.
Tasks can only be assigned by users or groups with “Can assign Tasks” permissions and only assigned to users or groups with “Can be assigned Tasks” permissions. Regardless of the Task Assigned To value in an issue, all tasks must be completed, cancelled or removed before an issue can be closed.
Only users with “Can view Tasks on issues” permissions will be able to view Tasks within an issue or email notification. In addition, only these users will receive email notifications related to Task events. This allows you to apply a workflow to an issue without bothering the user with the details of the workflow.
Tasks and Task Groups may also be ‘Restricted’ to particular groups and/or organizations. Only members of these select groups and/or organizations will be able to view restricted tasks and/or task groups.
When a user is assigned a Task, they'll receive an email notification. According to the Task Type assigned, the Task can be marked "complete" by clicking “task complete,” or can be approved or disapproved by clicking “yes” or “no.” You may also configure the system so that a popup window is generated during completion of a Task. In this scenario, the user completing the Task will be prompted to enter Labor Hours and Labor Notes related to the completion of the Task. Regardless, the system will always record who completed the Task as well as the date and time it was completed.
In a “yes/no” scenario among Task Groups, all subsequent tasks may be cancelled depending on the selection of yes, no, or neither, depending on the workflow you have defined within the Task Group. You may choose to add a second Task Group when a task is completed as well. Both options are available when the task is completed for all selections (yes, no, neither). You may choose to cancel remaining tasks, add a task group, or both for each option available.
Dependencies may also be established among Tasks, e.g. Task 3 cannot be completed until Tasks 1 and 2 have been completed. If dependencies have been engaged, the links to complete subsequent Tasks will not appear nor will notification of Task assignment be sent until the preceding Task has been completed and the dependent task is available for completion.