Users can inherit all of their permissions through group membership(s). Or, inherit additional permissions to those already applied through a template or selected in their user records.
As users are added to a group, their inherited permissions will appear in read-only format on their user records. These permissions cannot be changed without changing the entire group’s permissions or removing the user from the group.
Permission options on group records are almost identical to those on user records. However, there are additional properties that must be considered.
A group cannot login or submit issues as if they were an individual user. But a group can:
− Be assigned issues if they have “Can be assigned issues.” The individual group members may also then be assigned issues.
− Be assigned Next Actions if they have “Can be assigned Next Action.” The individual group members may also then be assigned Next Actions.
− Be assigned Tasks if they have “Can be assigned Tasks.” The individual group members may also then be assigned Tasks.
− Be added to Email Distribution Lists. The individual group members will then be sent notifications to the email address in their user record. Notifications will also be sent to the address in the group record if one has been defined.
− Be added as Project members. The individual group members will then be included in the project.
For a detailed outline of permission options, see the “Users” chapter of this manual.